The African Big Five

Home / Experiences / The African Big Five

The African Big Five is a term that has long fascinated and captured the imaginations of wildlife enthusiasts and safari-goers alike. These five magnificent creatures hold a special place in the hearts of those who venture into the African wilderness. But why are they called the “Big Five,” and what makes each of them an integral part of this elite club?

Why are they called the Big Five?

The Big Five animals were originally grouped together by big-game hunters not solely because they were considered dangerous but because they were some of the most challenging and prized animals to hunt. These hunters sought the most challenging and dangerous animals to pursue on foot, and the Big Five represented the pinnacle of their ambitions. The term includes animals that were considered the most prized trophies due to their size, strength, and the difficulty of hunting them. Over time, their status as the Big Five has evolved beyond hunting and is now largely based on their ecological importance and iconic status in African wildlife.

African Elephant

The African elephant is the largest land mammal on Earth, and its colossal size, along with its intelligence and social behavior, makes it a key member of the Big Five. These gentle giants are found across the African continent, with high populations in countries like Botswana, Zimbabwe, and South Africa. Chobe National Park in Botswana is renowned for its large elephant herds, offering excellent chances for close encounters. Despite their size, elephants are generally peaceful animals. However, they can become extremely dangerous when provoked or if they perceive a threat to their herd.

Big Five Elephant


The African lion, often referred to as the “King of the Jungle,” is a symbol of power and majesty. Lions are highly social animals, living in prides led by a dominant male. They are predominantly found in East and Southern Africa, with popular destinations for lion sightings including Kenya’s Maasai Mara, Tanzania’s Serengeti National Park, and South Africa’s Kruger National Park. Lions are often seen as symbols of strength, courage, and majesty due to their regal appearance and their role as apex predators.

Big Five Lion

Cape Buffalo

The African Cape buffalo is known for its imposing size, unpredictable behavior, and fierce nature when provoked. These massive creatures roam in herds and are prevalent in East and Southern Africa, particularly in areas like Kenya’s Amboseli National Park and Tanzania’s Ngorongoro Conservation Area. Cape buffalo are known for their unpredictable behavior and short temper. They can become aggressive when threatened and are responsible for killing more hunters on the continent than any other animal. These buffalo are large, robust animals with powerful horns that can be used for defense.

Big Five Buffalo

African Leopard

The African leopard is the most elusive member of the Big Five. Renowned for its stunning beauty and unmatched stealth, leopards are solitary and highly adaptable. While they can be found in a variety of African habitats, the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in South Africa and Zambia’s South Luangwa National Park are excellent places to spot these elusive cats. Leopards are skilled hunters and are capable of taking down prey larger than themselves. They are known for their strength and agility.

Big Five Leopard

White & Black Rhino

The African rhino comprises two species, the white rhino and the black rhino, both critically endangered due to poaching. These herbivores are known for their prehistoric appearance and formidable size. To witness these magnificent creatures, you can visit South Africa’s Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, which is renowned for its successful rhino conservation efforts. Both white and black rhinos are massive animals with armored bodies and formidable horns. These animals are critically endangered due to poaching for their horns, adding to their iconic status as they represent the urgent need for wildlife conservation efforts.

Big Five Rhino

The African Big Five holds a special place in the world of wildlife enthusiasts, photographers, and travelers seeking a true African safari experience. While the term originated from big-game hunting, today, it serves as a testament to the continent’s remarkable biodiversity and the importance of wildlife conservation. To witness these incredible animals in their natural habitats, one can explore the numerous national parks and reserves across Africa, where dedicated conservation efforts ensure the survival of these iconic species. Remember, though, that viewing these majestic creatures should always be done with respect for their environment and well-being, supporting responsible and sustainable tourism practices.

Africa Golf Safari
Hosted Golf Tours

Hosted Golf Tours

Hosted golf tours are excellently orchestrated adventures, tailored for those who seek not just to...